Fiscal Year 2015/16 budget process

The public is invited to learn more about our City budget and participate in this fiscal year’s process.

The following is the tentative schedule for budget-related workshops and council meetings, culminating in the adoption of the fiscal year 2015/16 operating and capital improvement project budgets on June 9.

Monday, Feb. 9, 4p.m., Budget and Audit Committee (1) CAFR, (2) Midyear Report, (3) Budget 101

Tuesday, Feb. 10, 6p.m., City Council (1) CAFR, (2) Midyear Report

Tuesday, Feb. 17, 2 p.m., City Council Workshop (1) Budget 101, (2) Budget Principles/Policies and Major Tax Revenue Trends and Forecast

Saturday, Feb. 21, 10a.m., Mayor’s Community Workshop (Neighborhood Association Presidents) on Budget Priorities

Tuesday, Feb. 24, 2 p.m., City Council Workshop (1) Expenditure, (2) Labor Cost Model, (3) Fleet, (4) Risk, (5) Debt, (6) Other Post-Employment Benefits (OPEB), (7) Capital Improvement Program

Tuesday, March 3, 1:30 p.m., Budget and Audit Committee City Auditor Report

Tuesday, March 3, 2 p.m., City Council Workshop (1) Operational Review, (2) City programs/services by department, (3) Enterprise Funds, (4) Measure U, (5) Other funds (4th R, START, etc.)

Friday, March 6, 6p.m., Mayor Presents Budget Priorities to Council in Friday Memo

Tuesday, March 10, 6p.m., City Council Mayor and Council Discuss and Develop City Budget Priorities

Tuesday, March 17, 6 p.m., City Council Mayor and Council Approve Budget Priorities and Present to City Manager

Tuesday, April 7, 2 p.m., Budget and Audit Committee (1) Master Fee Schedule, (2) Citywide Policies, (3) Other Post-Employment Benefits (OPEB), (4) Pensions, (5) Risk

Friday, April 24, FY2015/16 Proposed Budget Released

Tuesday, May, 5, 2 p.m., Budget and Audit Committee (1) FY2015/16 Budget Overview

Tuesday, May 12, 6 p.m., City Council (1) Budget Introduction: Forecast & Assumptions, (2) FY2015/16 Proposed Budget for: Mayor and City Council, Charter Offices, Community Development, Convention and Cultural Services, Economic Development, Finance, General Services, Human Resources, Information Technology, Public Works, Utilities, Citywide and Community Support, (3) Citywide Fees and Charges Update

Tuesday, May 19, 2 p.m., City Council (1)2015-2020 Capital Improvement Program (CIP), (2) FY2014/15 Measure U Update: Parks and Recreation

Tuesday, May 19, 6 p.m. City Council FY2014/15 Measure U Update: Fire, Police

Tuesday, June 2, 2 p.m., Budget and Audit Committee Budget and Audit Committee Recommendation on Proposed Budget

Tuesday, June 9, 6 p.m., City Council Adoption of the FY2015/16 Operating and CIP

Note: Budget & Audit Committee Meetings are scheduled for one hour; Council Workshops are scheduled for two hours.

 

Leave a Comment